Sunday, May 29, 2011

Disable Facebook Chat Saving Directly in the Messages (NOT)

Facebook have managed to upset users with their latest upgrade to the chat feature.

PLEASE NOTE:  If you are looking for information on how to Disable Facebook Chat so that your pesky friends don’t bug you when you are on facebook, Click here.

A lot of people are trying to find out how to disable the new Facebook “feature” that saves your full chat directly into the messages inbox as a conversation, whether you want it or not. The sad fact is that there is no way to disable this. The best that you can do for now is to manually delete the unwanted conversations, and that is a total pain.


Here is how to disable Facebook chat saving directly in the messages;

  • Go to "privacy setting"
  • On the bottom choose "Apps and Websites"
  • Below the "Apps and Websites" click "edit your setting"
  • On the section of "Apps you use" click "edit setting" you can see you have an app "chat history manager" that generate auto save of your chat log into inbox.
  • On "chat history manager" there’s an "x" besides "edit setting" to remove the apps.
  • Click the "x" to remove the chat manager then click ok.
This is the best solution that I have found so far, let me know if you find a better solution. 

Update 2011/06/09

Sorry folks, bad news... That solution didn’t work.

After much digging around, searching, investigating and a few Inspector Clouseau impersonations, I have arrived at the conclusion that there is no way to disable Chat Saving Directly into Messages.

I can only hope that as FB rolls out its plans to become an integrated email/Cell/chat/social provider that they will improve the messaging system and fix this, but I won’t hold my breath.

Update 2011/06/17


There is still no word from the facebook development team on how they plan to deal with this, but I know a lot of facebook users are not happy with the chat saving. Some have even claimed that they have lost their girlfriends or jobs as a result of the feature, while others complain that it makes using system difficult as it clogs up the Facebook inbox. If the past precedent is anything to go by, the problem will probably be ignored until it reached a critical mass of unhappy users.

Help get this prioritized and tell Facebook what you think http://www.facebook.com/help/?topic=suggestions